Login | Sign-Up

Polaroids Of Androids

Record Reviews

6.5

Arcade Fire
The Suburbs

This is a review of Arcade Fire's latest record The Suburbs.

This is the opening paragraph of the review, in which the reviewer describes some sort of metaphor that perhaps alludes to some aspect of the band.

This is that linking, in which the metaphor described above is applied to the band's new record and it's amazing success both critically and commercially, and acknowledging that a lot of people have been saying a lot of things about it. In doing so, this paragraph also acknowledges there is not more that can be added by this humble reviewer.

This paragraph goes off on a slight tangent, alluding to some obscure reference about the band members past and how it may have affected the process of creating their previous albums. The paragraph is then brought back into focus by comparing that with the making of this album, and hypothesising that the differences in build up have led to different outcomes on record.

This paragraph is pretty boring, being mainly comprised of song titles from the album such as The Suburbs, Month of May, Rococo, City With No Children, Sprawl 11 (Mountains Beyond Mountains) and Modern Man in the context of them being either high points or low points.

This paragraph gets in to the main point of the review, in that it attempts to make the point that the album is a very paint by numbers affair. It then makes a clever and funny point that while those numbers might be some of the best numbers in existence such as 42 and 69 and π, but that they will only get you so far.

This paragraph half defends and half apologises for the previous paragraph's apparent harshness, and explains that the reviewer actually does like the band very much and that the members of the band are very talented and that all the talk of wonderful live shows should not be forgotten and that the reviewer would much rather this band be at the top of the heap right now than a lot of the other stadium rock wannabes that are vying for that position at the moment.

This final paragraph takes the previous paragraph into account but still comes back to the point first broached in the paragraph before that and gives a few additional points to hammer things home and maybe throws in a humorous little line towards the end but eventually leaves things neat and tidy so that the reviewer feels a sense of finality to the review.

Filed Under
Record Reviews
Arcade Fire

 

You'll Probly Like This Stuff Too

 

Comments

kuwahshi

This comment says that wasn't a review.

7 years ago

bella

actually, that perfectly sums up how I feel about this record and arcade fire in general

7 years ago

(nobody)

O I get it

7 years ago

Remmy

Don't know much about the Arcade Fire... still don't. I take it the reviewer thinks they are a bit standard & unsatisfying... Would have been nice if he had expanded upon that... Nevermind...

7 years ago

darcyclay

You could try listening to their music Remmy?

7 years ago

Rav

Totally get what you're trying to say here Mike. This is a good review of formulaic reviews.

At the same time though, you have to acknowledge there’s a trade off in this biz. As writers, we are inherently creative people and try to convey meanings and messages in as many innovative forms as possible.

On the flip side of the coin, a lot of people reading reviews just wanna know what albums to buy/download or what parts of an album have something to offer them. They don't want to have to sort through a whole bunch of bullshit just to find a hidden message buried at the bottom of a 2,000 word review. I think that's why Pitchwank’s reviews have become increasingly irrelevant (it’s still a great source for news, interviews, features and videos), and that people that go to that site for its reviews focus mainly on the score it receives, rather than the tripe that gets printed along with it.

Speaking of scores, I have to disagree with the one The Suburbs has received here. I think the album is fantastic, with some of the Arcade Fire's very best work. At the same time I think that it definitely deserves a lower than standard AF score because quite simply, it's too fucking long. I know AF are Merge’s darling band/major cash cow, but that doesn’t mean you should always let your artists run wild.

If this album had have simply consisted of the tracks:

1. The Suburbs
2. Ready To Start
3. Modern Man
4. City With No Children
5. Suburban War
6. Month Of May
7. We Used To Wait
8. Sprawl II

Then it would have been a stellar fucking record. Unfortunately it’s got too much fluff and what should have been a high 9s, deserves a low 8s/high 7s. But I can’t agree with 6.5 considering some of the stuff that does beat 7s.

7 years ago

bella

I've listened to the album a few times and I personally don't connect with it at all. Some of the melodies are really pretty but it all just sounds so "safe.' Haven't they already done the "suburbs" thing? I mean, "grab your mother's keys, we're leaving!" Didn't we already leave?

7 years ago

(Mark)

How can supposed "indie kids" hate on The Arcade Fire?
Shit's like a bunch of juggalos hating on Insane Clown Posse.

7 years ago

Jonny Yes Yes

rappers with face paint hating on insane clown posse
professional humour entertainers hating on insane clown posse
trailer park dudes who like really sugary soft drink hating on insane clown posse


7 years ago

Jonny Yes Yes

@Bella but where did we go? i still touch base with The Suburbs now and again.. but only to mow my dad's lawns (no homo) ... the album's title is obviously must a metaphor for boredom. Or hotty soccer moms. Pass the oranges.

7 years ago

bella

EVEN THOUGH I KNOW YOU ARE SHIT STIRRING (MARKY MARK)
people like what they wanna like. just because something fits into a genre that they usually enjoy doesn't mean they will connect with it on principle alone. (unless they are a cunt.)

7 years ago

bella

I wish there were more songs about "hotty soccer moms." (maybe totel deemonz - 2014?)

7 years ago

Jonny Yes Yes

Totel Deemonz. What a bunch of legends.


Fred High Jack!

7 years ago

bella

can't wait til totel deemonz release their debut album on floppy disk

7 years ago

(Mark)

Bella, I take your point but I’m just not sure it’s “respectful” to say bad things about The Arcade Fire so close to 12th September, aka. the 6th Anniversary of Pitchfork's 'Funeral' review, aka. the 6th birthday of "indie music subculture".

Many children put away their Jimmy Eat World CDs that day, and became thoughtful young altbros. It's a heaps sacred day in internet history.

7 years ago

bella

goodness! I had no idea!

7 years ago

Remmy

LoL! heaps sacred day. Nice

7 years ago

Boo!

The album is boring. Like this comment.

7 years ago

monachilada

This is a comment making the outrageous claim that this guy stole my "bit": http://www.guardian.co.uk/science/the-lay-scientist/2010/sep/24/1

7 years ago

Comments are currently closed because Spam Bots ruin everything.