Login | Sign-Up

Polaroids Of Androids

Record Reviews

0.2

Art vs Science
The Experiment

There is a widely unspoken and extremely fucked up truth that exists within the Australian music industry these days, in fact it's more of a subliminal motto that's being upheld by posturing industry big wigs whom claim to be music lovers. If it could be put into words it would read something like — DO NOT CRITICISE. DO NOT ANALYSE. JUST SELL SELL SELL. 'Indie' music in this country is such a broad term that it now encompasses fucking annoying girl next door types like Megan Washington, the mind numbingly boring Angus & Julia Stone, (I swear if hear those two mention their fucking dog in an interview ever again I'm gonna kill myself) and, more importantly, the subjects of this review, Art vs Science.

Art vs Science really do sum up everything that is wrong with Australian 'indie' music. This record is quiet possibly the worst fucking album I have ever listened to. Definitely the worst I've listened to all the way through. Getting through it once was literally torture. As I listened to hits like Finally See Our Way and Magic Fountain, as made famous by our nations biggest 'indie' radio station, I got angrier and angrier. I went deeper and deeper into my brain, reaching a point of delirium.

How does anyone think this is good?

I was so pissed off after listening to this record that I went searching online for more about Art vs Science. You might think that it'd be easier to just forget about it, put it out of my mind and move on — but I just couldn't do it. I started thinking that there must be a tribe of people out there who agree with me about this band. Then I remembered that I live in Australia. A place where no-one says anything bad about these types of things openly. Everyone supports, no-one gets impolite.

After reading some limply positive reviews about this record and other AVS releases and sitting there gobsmacked for a while, something became very clear. The same phrases and words like 'quirky' or 'enthralling' kept coming up, rather than adequate descriptors like 'putrid' or 'lowest common denominator'. These other so-called critics could not have possibly listened to the music. They had instead read the press releases, heard the two or three disgusting songs that have been flogged on radio, gauged what everyone else was saying, and written the same thing.

Well fuck that and fuck you if you are one of those people. I did listen to the record and I'm giving my honest opinion about it. The only reason I'm even bothering with this review is because it just keeps on happening. We are getting more and more former Australian Idol contestants and absolute ball sacks like AVS swallowing up 'indie' airwaves and taking exposure away from Aussie bands like Parades or Royal Headache who deserve the hype. Anywhere else in the world this record would be torn apart by 'critical music press', but here the bogans buy it, the press hold their tongues and play nice, and the music industry sell the shit out of it, all the while perpetuating what has become a systemic virus that has eaten most of the guts out of the Australian 'indie' music scene. Just about anyone worth a damn (ie. The Drones, The Avalanches etc) earned their stripes overseas before being taken back as one of our own.

To summarise: THIS ALBUM IS OFFENSIVE. IT'S EMBARRASSING THAT THEY ARE AUSTRALIAN. I FELT DUMBER AFTER LISTENING TO IT. IF YOU ACTUALLY ENJOY THIS ALBUM YOU SHOULDN'T BE ALLOWED TO VOTE. I'M SURE THEY ARE NICE HUMAN BEINGS BUT I REALLY HOPE THAT ART VS SCIENCE STOP MAKING MUSIC.

Filed Under
Record Reviews
Art vs Science

 

You'll Probly Like This Stuff Too

 

Comments

pat4444

amen. thanks for your sanity

3 years ago

Lochy

I don't understand why you review this shiz.

Megan Washington also, there’s a Radiohead record ready to review instead of this crap and this clearly isn't your audience.

Agree with the review though.

3 years ago

shaun

"limply positive reviews"

Well this is a limply negative review, because you haven't actually explained why the record is shit.

3 years ago

sparks mcgee

It's big dumb party music played entirely live by a trio of extremely goofy, rather talented dudes.

parts of it are indeed awful, but much of it is at the very least impressive, and pretty great at the most.

I'm sick of reviewers with a chip on their shoulder having at any marginally uncool Australian group in the name of taste. The industry here is too pathetically weak for us to lop the tall poppies when they aren't popular music's new messiah.

I give it a 6/10, for spirit. For the record, my favourite Australian release of last year was Strange Tourist, so fuck you too, you abject retard of a music critic.

3 years ago

heyhey

They review it cause no-one else has the sack to write it off when it deserves to be destroyed by critics.

Agree 100%. Magic fountain makes me feel sick and it deserves this reaction

3 years ago

readylove

Spooky you lemon...
6/10 for spirit!! What's that even mean??

3 years ago

whaley

Yeah we gots our King of Limbs review coming later on this week

3 years ago

Lochy

I doubt no-one has the sack to write it off?

Thats just silly.

3 years ago

Jonny Yes Yes

"The industry here is too pathetically weak"

HA!

3 years ago

heyhey

No-one in the media has the sacko. Look around man.

Feature album on jjj

Across the board praise or politeness for this utter disgrace

3 years ago

Lochy

But this is the kind of crap JJJ like.

They also believe that if its Aussie then you must support it so I agree to a certain extent but to say no-one has the sacko is hard to believe.

I have this vision of Art and his younger brother Science standing out the front of the PofA offices with knuckle dusters and baseball bats.

FIGHT THE POWER MAN!



3 years ago

heyhey


It's soooooooooooooooooooo bad. The rest of the world is laughing at us.

JJJ have turned away from music fans and now just have the bogans permanently in or around the mouth

3 years ago

readylove

Abject...? You Microsoft word thesaurused the shit out of that didn't you spooky?

Zing. Abject Retard!!!!!! Yeah zing zing zing muthafucker!!!!

3 years ago

NakedAndRed

Must be all that North Shore money that helped them climb the corporate music ladder.

3 years ago

guess who? (the mystery face game)

ART VS SCIENCE

The name says it all really. They have figured out the SCIENCE of making massive $$$ from the brain retarded general population, and are even smart-ass enough to make a band name out of it

It's basically a big fuck you to every single person that writes music from the heart.

3 years ago

Rav

Off the top of my head: Superheist, Rhubarb, 28 Days, Things Of Stone And Wood, One Dollar Short, Pete Murray, The Tenants, The Whitlams, Madison Avenue etc. This is a list of all the Aussie bands I can think of that Triple J once had in high rotation and inevitably distance themselves from with an abject barge pole (what the fuck does that word mean anyway? Spook, help me out).

Triple J are not an 'indie' station in any way, shape or form. They're also not a commercial station, and therefore find it harder to dictate to listeners what music they want them to listen to (cos they don't have the cash for focus groups, market analysis etc).

Triple J is a fad/trend determined radio station. The station's music directors focus their attention on following the most popular music internationally at the time and they push the shit out of an Aussie version of said music, so that they (and Australia) appear relevant. They're pushing Art Vs Sciece right now because dance rock is hot shit internationally (Hot Chip, LCD Soundsystem, Phoenix etc). And as much as those other bands shit all over Art Vs Science, they can only make it to Aus for shows once in a blue moon and when they do they'll only hit major centres. Whereas local boys like Art Vs Science can be wheeled around Aus non-stop for donkey's to every RSL they can nail down, all the while dragging the tag of 'Triple J Presents'.

That way the band and their mediocre music get to make a living for a few years, and the Js score a lot of free advertising and bonus listeners. Hence, Art Vs Science get 'Feature Album' slots. I'm sure that one day Art Vs Science's 'The Experiment' will join the forgettable pile of CDs Triple J once span the shit out of, right next to Leonardo's Bride and Diana Ah Naid.

3 years ago

sparks mcgee

yeah, ok. it's well played rubbish. but it's hard not to admire that they've done it entirely independently in under a year.

i never use a thesaurus.

3 years ago

guess who? (the mystery face game)

they figured out the "science" perfectly to extract the maximum amount of cash from their 15 mins of fame.

"independent" doesn't mean anything to them but a smart way to maximise their profits

hats off to them as entrepreneurs

hope they can sleep at night

3 years ago

Rav

Any more theories/analogies/puns based on band's name @Guess Who? (The Mystery Face Game)?

*sidebar: best web page comment handle/pic ever!

3 years ago

jesse

god damn I love this review.

3 years ago

hugeonreddit

Great review...good point, its shithouse.

p.s Angus & Julia can derelict my balls, Megan can watch.

3 years ago

JonBonJovi

That is the best review I have read in the Australian Press in the last few years! Totally agree on the Australian Buzz bands being watered-down copies of much better international bands proped us by triple J. I miss the days when Triple J played experimental & interesting Aussie bands. =(

3 years ago

holc

SCATHING REVIEW IS SCATHING!!!!

Drummer from AvS also used to be in THE PHILLY J'S!!!!!!!!!! So he has done pretty well for himself in the JJJ "over-exposure for hopelessly shit music" stakes.

3 years ago

Rabbit

The thing with Art vs Science is, "Flippers" and "Parlez Vous Francais" and even "Magic Fountain" were so loved by everyone because they were stupid, yet catchy songs. The lyrics are ridiculous to the point of genius - in particular parlez vous francais - and musically they are really catchy and good fun, and, most importantly as you said, there arent a lot of Aussie bands getting into the dance-rock genre well, and with these 3 songs I felt like Art vs Science were on their way...

HOWEVER. I heard "Finally see our way" and I was like "Holy shit, what the f*** have they done". That is the worst song EVER. And I started listening to pieces of the album and I thought "this is the worst ALBUM ever". For a band that was gearing themselves toward tongue-in-cheek dance-rock, they then transitioned to an even poorer version of Miami Horror (another band I feel started off well and swiftly crashed and burned). Art Vs Science should have stuck with what they were originally doing, instead of becoming a cookie-cutter of any other shit Aussie dance-pop group.

3 years ago

flukazoid

most importantly as you said, there arent a lot of Aussie bands getting into the dance-rock genre well


who said this? who? who?

3 years ago

flukazoid

The genius of Art vs Science is laid bare in FasterLouder's recent tell-all interview. To quote the band, in their own words:

I think with the instruments we use and keyboards, there’s such a wealth of sound you can use, while with a guitar based band you’re kind of restricted to bass, drums and guitar but only with so many sounds you can make on one instrument. But with keyboards there’s banks and banks of sounds, we’ve got hundreds to choose from so you’re kind of free to do pretty much anything I guess.


and... well, yeah. that pretty much says it all.

3 years ago

monachilada

I stopped reading after Rav nailed the JJJ issue. Boom.

3 years ago

Ace_Wonder

..and from what I hear they're aren't nice human beings.

3 years ago

Rbfj

Agree whole heartedly that these guys are balls, but this is just a silly, and more to the point lazy rant. It's an album review so ffing well review it. Break it down in an entertaining way, inform us and make us believe you know what you're talking about.

3 years ago

Rav

From The Vine:

Dan Mac (AVS Front dude): When we first started out, playing live was a great indicator because no one knew any of our songs. So the ones they liked, we'd get a bigger cheer for. Which now is a bit confounded because it's the songs that people know better that get bigger cheers. That was one of the problems with 'Magic Fountain'; we use to play it in the setlist alongside songs like 'Parlez Vous' and it wouldn't get as big a reaction. So we thought 'Oh we have to change it'. So we changed it and changed it and we eventually ended up at the original place. The difference between playing that song before it was on the radio and afterwards...was phenomenal.

3 years ago

bucci

i love you.

3 years ago

R-Beezy

Fuck me, fuck you, fuck them, fuck JJJ........
Whaley, If your not abjectly retarded I bet your ugly, or abjectly gorgeous, either way I'm in!
Well written, scathing, articulate, didn't get the mountain bike you wanted for xmas....... I know.
I give your review 4/10, also 4/11.
But, this band(or whatever they are) are tiny in every sense , the record is shit because it is a overzealous landscape of fuck-witted desperation. I have not heard it.

3 years ago

R-Beezy

I didn't read the review either, sorry, just lonely.
Moderate me.

3 years ago

Jonny Yes Yes

*you're*

3 years ago

kidalias

I think I heard a song of theirs that mentioned Bebop and Rocksteady.

I'm happy they exist because it means bogans will choose them over better bands at festivals (eg Futuremusic it's them up against Mark Ronson).

Music aside, I'd still bang the drummer.

3 years ago

albertinho

"bang the drummer"

A+ pun.

3 years ago

lucyd

I learned the hard way, you do not say anything bad about Triple J ever, or feel the wrath. Honestly, I'll admit it's not the world's greatest piece, but it's opinion (which I thought we were allowed to have, but apparently not when talking against Triple J) http://www.thepunch.com.au/articles/Triple-J-loves-Aussie-music-but-loves-ratings-more/

3 years ago

Rav

Read your article LucyD. Fuck the haters, I reckon you raised some good points. You're always gonna get backlash like that from JJJ fans because they grew up with JJJ and usually aren't as active listeners as they think they are.

It's like calling someone's mum a cunt. Even if she is a cunt, they're still gonna stand up for her 'cos they don't know any better.

Keep up the good work.

3 years ago

glugger

" Lets be honest, once you’ve heard one Australian band, you’ve heard them all."
A comment on the article.


I cried.

3 years ago

Stringa

Sick review bro. Now i'm not a fan of the album but at least tell me why you think it's that bad. Indie is a loose definition if your referring to Art vs Science as an indie band. I suspect the reason you reviewed this one was because you got sick of stealing from professional reviews for all your other pieces of writing??? Have a read of this PROFESSIONAL review, if you want an idea on how to structure a review. http://www.allmusic.com/album/the-experiment-r2161303 . But for now, stay away from the ink and learn your facts.

3 years ago

Stringa

Also, saying "fuck this, fuck that, fuck you" does not help your already lost cause. And on the jjj issue, which would you prefer, them or a commercial radio station? Go piss off to America if you want to bag the Australian music industry that much, I'm sure you'd love it there.

3 years ago

Jonny Yes Yes

1. "stealing from professional reviews for all your other pieces of writing" ???
2. you're right though mate, boy do we hate Australian music...
3. arguing that triple j is a good radio station just because they're better than nova is a bit of a silly argument.
4. nice review.
5. PROFESSIONAL.

3 years ago

Remmy

Airborne are a joke-rock-band and were seen as not being right fro jjj. The Galvertrons are a "joke-hair-rock-band and were seen as not being right fro jjj. Art v Science are a joke-dance-rock-band yet somehow were deemed acceptable for jjj? What the fuck? I heard JJJ wouldn't put the Holy Soul album on rotation because it was "too alternative"...? I hope jjj gets Aids.

3 years ago

readylove

Stringa you're in Art Vs Science hey?

3 years ago

readylove

And you're real upset about it hey?

3 years ago

Rav

I did fuck off to North America so I could bag the shit out of the Australian music industry Stringa, so I guess I have your permission to do so.

Here goes:
1. Our ticket prices are crazy expensive. I live in Toronto and people laugh in my face when I tell them how much it costs to see a show in Oz. Bands/artists I've seen this year for under $20 - yeasayer, Titus andronicus, ra ra riot, my disco, deerhunter, baths, crystal stilts etc, etc

2. Triple J is no longer a good radio station. It may never have been for all I know cos I fell in love with it while I was growing up in Wagga, so I had fuck all else to listen to. It does have its good points (Hack, Zan Rowe) but it's main problem is programming and presenters. It invests too much in having 'comedians' as presenters, rather than people that are knowledgable about music. There have been some exceptions to that role, but it seemed like everytine you bumped one of those knowledgable people up to a decent slot, they thought they had to act like a comedian to be popular.

3. If you want conventional/comfortable/easy to read reviews, then fuck off somewhere else. This is clearly a counter culture website, hence things are measured in 'reacharounds'. The writers on this site, myself not included cos I'm shit, but everyone else are trying to challenge the way reviews are typically written and the way you typically read reviews or listen to music. So if you don't like it, stiff shit.

4.Australian beauracracy/liquor licensing laws is killing the music industry. There needs to be some serious restructuring of the laws that govern venues as opposed to nightclubs and pubs. The Annandale shouldn't be subject to the same rules as Northies in Cronulla. There should be more opportunities for smaller establishments to put on shoes and more opportunities for young entrepreneurs to obtain short term liquor licenses to hold shows at interesting and creative venues.

That's all I've got for now. All the best in the post The Wire after life Stringa.

3 years ago

Rav

Fat fingers vs iPod touch screen means 'shows' comes out 'shoes'.

3 years ago

readylove

Yeah I was reading that Splendour in the ass is now one of the most, if not the most expensive fest in the world?? 3 day camping tickets for coachella are only $260 and we've gotta spend $550 to go go see coldplay

3 years ago

Lochy

Save that money and watch Portishead 5 times.

Can someone confirm if this rumour:

http://www.thevine.com.au/music/festivals/soundwave-team-revealed-to-be-creating-new-'harvest'-festival20110614.aspx

3 years ago

Lochy

is true?

3 years ago

Comments are currently closed because Spam Bots ruin everything.